The Divorcing Apple Project: Best Keyboard Maestro, Automation Replacements For Linux

PureOS/Linux users who’ve jumped ship from Apple, what have you found works best to replace functionality of Keyboard Maestro?

almost each and every desktop (graphical) shell in linux offers customizeable hotkeys which could be bound to shell scripts. Almost everything in linux could be achieved via shell scripts. If you are heavily relying on hotkeys you may even use purely hotkey based shells such as i3/sway (which offer minimum mouse interaction and maximum keyboard).
What you don’t do in linux shell is sending blind mouse events - something which graphical automation tools are boasting with. Nevertheless even here you are not alone and there’s xdotool which does exactly this.

3 Likes

I’m a little new to shell scripts. I’ll learn what I must. But there is also something to be said for speed of implementation. Anything like Keyboard Maestro that would build these shell scripts without me having to learn another scripting language?

Well not sure what eaxcatly you are looking for. I’ve never used keyboard maestro, rather AutoHotkey on windows but I presume its even less scripting than AHK - maybe macro recording and visual workflow builder?
Take a look at AutoKey which is very similar to AHK but it still needs certain light scripting. Anything bigger than that will likely be commercial automation/robotics software.

1 Like

I’m looking for the fastest/simplest way to make macros on Linux, that allow simulation of mouse, keyboard inputs, plus calling the commands Linux allows.

If I must learn a scripting language to do so, I will. But if there’s a GUI drag/drop style macros maker (like Keyboard Maestro) that can get me going fast, i would like to start with something like that.

That would also help other Apple refugees make the Linux jump.

Anything like that?