Tried transfering files from Mac OSX to Linux via external hard drive but its a bit difficult

I am new to librem 14 laptop and it’s a bit difficult, especially if trying to transfer files from Macbook Air to Librem 14 laptop but transfering files without a zip file is a bit difficult cause some files are denied access. To reformat an external hard drive on PureOS is a bit difficult. I’m just practicing the file transfer via zip files from Macbook to Librem laptop. Tried online file transfers via dropbox, wesendit, or wetransfer but they were so tricky.

You could use chown to change ownership of the files to your user on PureOS, or reformat the external drive as FAT so ownership information isn’t preserved between systems. I’m not sure if there’s a way to change ownership on all of the files graphically if you need to move a lot of them.

1 Like

Have you got iCloud for the file storage? Be careful if you do, because Apple keeps “links” on the local hard drive to the actual file stored in the iCloud. I have noticed that when I bulk copied files from Mac to Linux it was the links to iCloud that were copied, not the actual file.

2 Likes

Should I reformat the external hard drive to FAT or ext4 on PureOS?

I used to have iCloud but not anymore cause for more storage on iCloud, it’s so expensive. I rather try reformatting a hard drive on PureOs via Librem laptop.

1 Like

a. Just follow what already adviced:

b. Use PureOS for actual (p)reformat of your external drive:
apt list exfat-utils
sudo fdisk --list
man mkfs.exfat
sudo mkfs.exfat -n transagelessgen /dev/sdx1

I’m confused, which one should i reformat the external hard drive, on mac osx or pure os?

1 Like

When you do not have any data to backup on your external hard drive you should use PureOS, and perhaps, before actual reformat, you might want to create brand new partition (or two) there as well.