Tunnel OpenVPN IPv6 Leaking

Hello. I have been using PureOS for the past six weeks as this is my first attempt at a GNU/Linux distro. I have enjoyed my time switching to Linux from Windows. However, I have been having problems with the Librem One Tunnel.

When I first started using the Tunnel VPN I noticed it would leak my IPv6 address. In order to stop this I changed my Network Settings in the GUI for my own Personal Wifi IPv6. By going to System Settings>>>Connections>>>Personal Wifi>>>IPv6 (Method: set on “Automatic”>>>Routes and checked “Use Only for resources on this connection”. I then changed my Network Settings for Tunnel VPN by going to System Settings>>>Connections>>>Librem One US-California>>>IPv6 and set Method to “Disabled”. Once I did this Tunnel VPN would work just fine and my IPv6 address would not leak for six weeks. However now I when I do this my Tunnel VPN connects but the internet won’t work.

I have been researching for a couple of days now and I keep reading that it is important to disable IPv6 for my own Personal Wifi. However when I disable IPv6 on my own Wifi by going to System Settings>>>Connections>>>Personal Wifi>>>IPv6 Method: set on “Disabled”. But when I do this Tunnel VPN connects but then the internet won’t work. Do you have any advice or resources I can use so that my Tunnel VPN will work and not leak my IPv6 address??? I have already tried contacting support two different times but they won’t reply back to me. I am using OpenVPN version 2.5.1 and using PureOS KDE Plasma Live.
Thanks

2 Likes

When I was using openvpn, I would run it from the terminal in order to avoid leaking ipv6. At the time (and I haven’t looked into it since) it was known that the network manager would leak the ipv6 address. Try putting your settings back the way they were and running openvpn from the command line.

Also if it helps, ipleak.net is a good site to test for leaks.

1 Like