Virtual Machines for Development Environment Isolation

I am about to start some open source development on my new Librem Mini V2.

I am new to development on PureOS and I have never developed under Debian either.

I would like to build a list of Virtual Machine software that can meet the following criteria, listed in the order of my priority:

1. Isolates installs of development tools from my host PureOS instance.
  2. Support for the following guest OSs: Debian, Arch, PureOS
  3. Regarding PureOS above, I would want to be able to target Librem5 platform (I want to port an app to the L5)
  4. I will likely need to be able to install Docker images (some projects have one start from there).

I am seeking simple input from people who develop on their Librem under PureOS, pointing to VM s/w one actually uses, any links to “getting started with vm x” are also useful to me.

I would like to avoid debate over which VM is the best or which guest OS is the best, which s/w is most protected from the NSA, etc.

Thanks in advance.
-james

1 Like

Just to see if I can get some traction here…

I am currently trying to get to a 100% dev environment for my project using a VM.

I am 80% there with the following:

• Virtual Machine Manager - provides a qemu virtual environment within a KVM hypervisor.
  • Host: PureOS Byzantium
  • Guest: Debian 10 w/Gnome
  • VM: 4 cpu, 4096 ram

I am able to install all my tools (including things I do not want to install on my nice PureOS host:

• Chrome, Firefox
  • Visual Studio Code
  • Discord
  • etc

What’s left?

1. Use both of my 2 displays within the guest
  2. Bluetooth with enough performance for discord-based voice (might not be achievable)

Regarding the 2 displays: I found an article that showed how to use remote-viewer via command line with:

remote-viewer spice://localhost:5900

Then they use the View | Displays … menu to check on an additional disply (e.g. [ ] Dispay 2).