What do I do with tampered firmware?

Disclaimer: I don’t have a Librem yet (I plan on getting one soon), and I have no experience with coreboot, gpg, or a tpm.

If I boot up with the Librem key, and notice that /boot files have been tampered, but the firmware is fine, it should be a simple matter to boot a (trusted) live distro, mount root (which I assume is encrypted), and regenerate boot files.

But if the firmware isn’t trusted, what do I do? I don’t have another machine I really trust to flash it, and I’m too poor to buy a new one, so I can only work with the tampered machine. I can’t trust either the installed OS or any live OS. I could use pureboot to try a factory reset or to flash a firmware image from a usb drive. But if these require pureboot, which is now tampered, I can’t trust the results.

Are there any solutions to tampered firmware that are feasible for someone with few resources?

1 Like

Did you ask the question about your actual computer? No, probably not, because there is no easy way to know whether someone changed your firmware.

I’d say you need to decide first whether you want to be able to detect that your firmware had been tampered with. And if you answer that with “yes” you’ll go for it.

And then - if ever - you run into the situation that you’ve really been targeted by such a complicated attack you’ll react to that knowledge according to your circumstances at that time.

I’d say you need not to bother about your question, now, because you do not know what trusted help and options you’ll have if ever you’ll really suspect somewhere changed your firmware.

I have a cool idea. What if I got a Blue Pill or some other small, programmable device, then put a firmware image on it and the code to flash the firmware with it. Then, if the firmware is tampered, I could shut down the computer, take the motherboard, attach the Blue Pill, and flash the good image.