What firewall best with Librem 14 on PureOS?

Hi all I am new to Linux so bear with me.
I’m in the process of setting up my Librem 14 which is running Pure OS.
I was thinking to use Gufw Uncomplicated fire wall with it, because it looks simple and I need a little that in my life.
So my questian is if you are running a Librem 14 with Pure OS what fire wall do you use and how did you install it ?

I have looked at the sofeware center and have not seem any fire walls there to install unless I missed it.
Thank you for time.

hi @nicholas77 most Linux system including PureOS based on Debian come with iptables respectively the successor nftables preinstalled as the low level firewall and those base configuration have quite good basic settings, so as a normal user you probably don’t have to change much.
On top of those there are a lot of frontends for the user if they need to change something, like ufw for example on top of which gufw can be used as GUI. Use what ever GUI interface you like the OS already comes with the actual firewall installed you just decide which GUI you want the actual Firewall is already there.

1 Like

I don’t really think a regular firewall is necessary for your average use case since PureOS doesn’t have any services listening to begin with. That said if you do want to protect your desktop, a better approach is to detect outgoing traffic in my opinion before you worry about incoming traffic. OpenSnitch is good at that. It is not yet packaged for PureOS but if you follow the installation steps for Debian here you should be able to install it:

A good firewall should be able to have both incoming and outgoing rules. I agree that monitoring traffic is a good way to gather data to use for creating those rules, but isn’t exactly a substitute.

Personally, I use pf because I like pain. I would not recommend that for the majority of people. ufw is popular so, probably a better fit as there will be more guides on this than most other firewall options.