What is more secure ? using Seahorse or setting up an encrypted partition?

i think the title is quite clear. would storing secrets in plain .txt files inside an encrypted partition be as secure as locking the Seahorse keyring up ?

i’d assume that if the password/passphrase is long and complex and the crypto is strong they should be on par.

the thing with this question is i’m inclined to consider it as BOTH not ONE or the OTHER. i.e they complement each … what do you think ? is it more complex than that ?

Do you mean an encrypted partition dedicated to only storing those specific secrets, or do you mean an encrypted partition with everything, your whole operating system, on it? I’m no expert at this but in the latter case I suspect that would be less secure than Seahorse because your secret files are available, unencrypted, as soon as you boot up your computer. Then the secrets are only safe when the computer is turned off such that it will require the password to start again.

1 Like

To add to the previous point, if you boot up with FDE and, say, start browsing the web and there’s some Day 1 in the web browser that allows the hacker to sample your files then plaintext files are completely vulnerable (if you yourself have access to the files). That is basically what @Skalman is saying.

You are also losing some deniability by using only full disk (partition) encryption.

I would definitely say “BOTH” if your threat model justifies it. (The main benefit of FDE is in the case of physical loss of custody over the device.)

Another consideration for Seahorse is that you have the choice between a keyring that unlocks automatically upon login and a keyring that must be manually unlocked. The second case effectively gives you a second password.

good question.