Worry about compositor

i’m not a developer, i’m just a user, but reading some comments make me worry about it because of workforce and money
in example something wrote by someone who seems to know things better than me

my little suggestion is to be carefull, because as you already know you have a budget and if what this guy say is true doesn’t seem a good investment

I think you don’t need to worry. They don’t do it for the fun, but because it simplifies things. The simplest way to get started is probably to fork a Wayland compositor and remove XWayland. Compare the diagrams here (X vs Wayland) and here (Wayland + X).

Also the comment there about “I don’t see upstream happen” - so what? He doesn’t see that. I don’t care. No prove given.
Also, even if it would not get accepted by upstream (which is a truly silly assumption, given that it was seemingly suggested by upstream …), so what? If it does the job, it does the job. It’s not like you constantly have to add features to keep up with technology.

Don’t give in to all the doubters and pessimists out there. Maybe ditch reddit :crazy_face:

3 Likes

Also the comment there about “I don’t see upstream happen” - so what? He doesn’t see that. I don’t care. No prove given.

Maybe you don’t care, but that doesn’t mean that others don’t. During the funding they said that they would be working towards upstream and that’s what I’ve expected (until now). There are multiple reasons why having it upstream, here are a few:

• Upstream means that we will get first-class support from the GNOME community
  • Upstream means that convergence would become easier because
    • it will be a part of the GNOME roadmap and not only the Purism roadmap
    • the compositor will be a part of the GNOME project and will therefore more naturally integrate
  • Upstream means that GNOME and Librem will work closer
  • Upstream means that they would have to follow GNOMES standard of design, code quality and integration with other gnome software