X-Post from r/linux: An electrical engineers opinion on the Librem 5

Some interesting concerns raised regarding the potential of the selected modems to do their job in the wild.

7 Likes

That’s exactly what i was afraid of. By the time evergreen is out we should know better. The best case scenario, it’s still gonna get warmer and have weaker signal than most smartphones. What matters is how close it is to tolerable levels for regular consumers and what would be the use case for most of the backers.
If ends up with inferior signal strength, for me it’s a deal breaker.
Same with overheating.

1 Like

Hey, that’s awesome! That’s the first time I read about somebody raising very legitimate concerns about hardware on an engineering level.
I’m an electronics engineer myself, but my experience is in prototyping high reliability hardware, hence my concerns are entirely different to his. Very, very interesting and justified. For some reason I thought that there was no significant difference between the IoT stuff and the modems built into the SoCs. After all the IoT stuff is built into cars as well.
But the antenna-stuff did seem dodgy to me as well, just like all the concerns about the metal case (planes use slit-antennae to solve the issue). However, perhaps Todd is rather referring to issues like cross-talk. I would love to see layouts, but even without those the board doesn’t instill too much confidence in terms of typical HF-issues.

3 Likes

Interesting point. Do you have insight wgar modems are used in cars? Because they have to be quiet good ar roaming between cell towers and for the bad signal filtering if they should proved good internet connection in a fast moving car. Or is the quality and robustness not that important for cars? Or do they use smartphone soc with integrated modems, so the optimized ones as the reddit post says?