[APP] Simple Diary

One of the things I do with my smartphone today is to write a diary on the days that i do particular things that I don’t want to forget.

I could not find a suitable app available for that and since I’m a developer I decided the days between christmas and newyears when I’m on vacation to in true free software spirit create one myself.
I am still eagerly waiting for my Evergreen (ordered late September 2017), so I have not tested it on an actual device yet.

I just wanted to share my progress with the community and if someone likes journaling like I do and has a Librem 5, don’t hesitate to build it yourself if you know how and try it out.

And of course, here’s the source code

NOTE: The app does not have a “dark” mode or anything like that, it’s just my default GTK theme. It will look like an ordinary GTK app on other devices.

22 Likes

excellent and essential. thanks for sharing.

Regards

1 Like

Great idea :+1:

1 Like

Great concept and execution. I’ll probably name the .desktop file “Captain’s Log”.

3 Likes

you’re an essential worker ! be well in this new year …

3 Likes

It’s now available on flathub (and compiles for arm64).
So if anyone has a L5 and wants to try it out it’s pretty easy now!

https://flathub.org/apps/details/com.bjareholt.johan.SimpleDiary

3 Likes

I still do not have my L5 (order date October 7, 2017). I compiled your app on a very recent FreeBSD laptop and after installing the mentioned infrastructure ports, it went fine and starts fine. It uses ~128 share libs and I don’t know if this is not to heavy on a L5.

I discussed this in the UBports forum. And someone said:

@guru it should be possible, but you would probably need to build and ship a build of GTK+3 with the app. Porting a Qt or HTML based app would be much easier.

matthias

1 Like

Cool, nice to hear!