Backdoor in FireFox in Kali and Parrot OSes (and others)

Fresh downloads of each. Run netstat on both and get an ‘established’ TCP connection (outside vpn) to 55.65.117.34 which a ‘whois’ search says is related to US Air Force, USAISC (United States Army Intelligence and Security Command) (and google).
See pics.
netstat_kali_unknown_connection

Checked signatures to the extent poss. Which is not much. The parrot checksums are signed but the signature file is only available from the same website as the download.

Or am I just missing something ? - I’m a user of tech not a dev.

2 Likes

Something more you could check is to find out which process on your computer is responsible for the suspicious TCP connection.

There are probably many ways to do that, here is one command I have used for it:

sudo ss -tp

The output from that ss command should include a “Process” column that tells you which process is handling that specific TCP connection.

For example. when I ran it on my computer just now, it tells me there are a few TCP connections related to firefox, two connections for thunderbird and one for ssh (because of an ongoing ssh connection that I have initiated myself). In my case I think all shown TCP connections are okay, I can understand why they are there. And if I close the corresponding programs, those TCP connections are also closed.

If you run that command (or something else that gives the same info), what process does it show for the TCP connection you are insterested in?

2 Likes

If you do the following command it will show which process has open the connection
lsof -i tcp:<port>
You need to change <port> by the number 55250 in your first screenshot

Also 55.65.117.34.bc.googleusercontent.com has the ip 34.117.65.55 , so you are not connected to 55.65.117.34, but 34.117.65.55

4 Likes

Seems like firefox-esr is connected to 55.65.117.34.bc.googleusercontent.com when you launch it
That sucks… how can I disable this in firefox ???