Constructive criticism (and review) of Purism and the Librem 5

This will also go via their feedback e-mail, but I will leave this here for the benefit of the community. I will cover hardware, software and Purism PR. The Librem 5 has been my daily driver for a couple of months now and I’ve been to different countries with it. I am an awful programmer, but a very experienced sysadmin. I’ve spent 6 months reading everything about the Librem 5 (including every single blog post by Purism and all I could find on the Internet).

I am referring here to the evergreen batch.

Quick conclusion

I love my Librem 5 and I haven’t been this excited about technology since the days of Windows CE handhelds. It’s amazing to finally OWN a pocket computer that will just run WHATEVER I want to run in it, to be able to prototype small applications to help my life in a few minutes and to actually be able to know what is running in it at all times.

The hardware is discreet, yet effective. Linux is a known old (but difficult) friend. The phone is fine and the user experience is fine, and I love it for that. It won’t have all the sensors of an iPhone, or a 3D camera with a 600Hz screen, or a 7 day battery life but I need none of these things. I have a real camera to take pictures. I prefer to game on a PC.

As a communications and productivity device, the Librem 5 nails it. I can easily work remotely using VPN and a Terminal, edit documents anywhere using an external screen. Calling via Signal and Skype works fine under Waydroid. My contacts are synced via DAV. I can send and receive messages fine. Connecting it to an external screen gives me GIMP, GNOME Builder, a desktop-class web browser and I don’t need to carry my laptop anymore when I know the place I am going to has a monitor available.