Creating Application Shortcut in Applications Folder

I have just installed Firefox (Mozilla). How do I create a short cut in the Applications/activities folder? I am not looking to create a desktop shortcut, just only the activities folder. After that, how do I add that shortcut to the Favorites bar?

I understand Pure Browser is a derivative of firefox itself, I Just prefer to use the original Firefox because of some plugins that only work it.

Thank you for your help.

Follow that steps to add the app to the folder, you can add the .desktop file in /home/Jonathanta/.local/share/applications instead, and you will not need to do it as root.

*replace Jonathanta with you user name in the system

Am I going to do that through the Nano editor? If so how do I do that and save the file? I am brand new to this OS and linux in general. Thank you for taking the time to help me.

@uzanto

If you use the folder in your user home, you can do it with any text editor, it’s a hidden one, to show it you should press Ctrl+h, then you will see all the hidden folder in the file explorer, the hidden ones are the ones with the . before the name like “.local”.

To save files in nano Ctrl+o, and Ctrl+x to exit, you just can press Ctrl+x and nano will ask you to save the file.

I can tell you what you need to do exactly, but I think it’s better to learn by yourself this kind of stuff.

Thank you for helping @uzanto I will definitely keep working to figure this out.

I easiest than it looks.

-Open Gedit (file editor).
-Add all the information that you need for you app launcher.
-Save it in you user folder and place it in the proper folder or simply save it there (/home/youruser/.local/applications/Firefox.desktop).

[Desktop Entry]
Name=Godot Engine
Comment=Multi-platform 2D and 3D game engine with a feature-rich editor
Exec=/the/location/of/Godotapp
Icon=godot
Terminal=false
Type=Application

Just replace what you need there, like the name, the app location, etc.