Fresh install of Debian on L14

Ok this may be an incredibly stupid question (I’m pretty new to linux) but m trying to install a fresh copy of Debian 10 on my L14 and when booting to a USB drive, once selecting the install I get a bunch of purple lines at the top of the screen as if its trying to use the incorrect screen resolution at which point I get stuck. Has anyone experienced something similar and has a workaround?

I did hunt down another thread referring to an install of version 11 which as I’m aware hasn’t been released yet.

Any help would be fantastic.

It’s been ages since I was installing Debian from scratch. That said, this is what I would do:

1. Get a daily build of debian installer (this installs debian testing, that is 11 as of now (2021-08-02). You may download mini.iso from there.
  2. Follow instructions from the debian installer manual on how to use that mini.iso image.

Not suprprised Debian 10 installer is giving erros, as reportedly Librem 14 needs newer kernel than the one used by said installer.

2 Likes

I had the same issue installing Debian 11. I was not able to get 10 to work, likely because the kernel is too old, as @Dwaff mentioned.

In order to get past the purple/blueish (something) lines, @MrChromebox said I had to make sure the i915 kernel module was loaded early. Which I found out means putting i915 in /etc/initramfs-tools/modules and then running update-initramfs.

Unfortunately I don’t know how to do this during the installation process, maybe others do.

Hopefully in newer Debian versions this module will be automatically added to the early list due to better hardware detection.

1 Like