How knowledgeable do I need to be to operate the Librem 5 for basic needs?

I’ve heard people say that you need to know what you’re doing when using Linux devices and programs. But is that entirely true? If I just want the phone for it’s privacy and use it primarily for phone calls, messaging, and web browsing, how knowledgeable do I need to be in technology to run the Librem 5?

2 Likes

In my opinion, to use the L5 as a daily driver I would recommend at least some familiarity with Linux. I define that as someone who is not scared of running terminal commands and can understand the basics of how Linux distros function (knowing some Debian based sytems is a plus).

That’s because some setup may be required to get the L5 to cover the basic needs of calling, texting, and making the browser mobile friendly.

5 Likes

Not much, but you should at least know your modem variant and your telecommunication carrier’s supported bands, along with whether or not they support 3G/4G/5G.

2 Likes

well I think this post Time to flash is now - but how? is a good start.

it shows you someone who doesn’t know much about linux trying to flash their phone and the struggle they are going through.

no wonder why so many people had bad experience with linux when they get comments like this.

3 Likes

I did not need to know anything about Linux when I started using my Librem 5 USA, and what I know now is hardly much of a difference from way back when.

3 Likes

There is really not much to know for those things. Turning on Phone, typing PIN (see manuals next to the phone) and trial and error like on every new system. Just don’t forget backups when you try something new