Installing Programs - Firefox

Hi,
I am a complete newbie to Linux and am not a techie, but just received my Librem 14 because I believe in the concept and am trying to learn.

Right away I am noticing issues doing basic things using epiphany as my browser. Many sites I visit seem to be have differently or seem to not like epiphany. I was told that Firefox may be better. But am so used to windows, I don’t know how to install it. Or drivers for my printer or my mouse.

Any tips are appreciated.

$ sudo apt list firefox-esr -a

Please continue as already confirmed here:

And this HP approach might give you some idea in which direction you need to search the Web on how to. Procedure is the same as above (just another package name used):
$ sudo apt list hplip
$ sudo apt install package-name

1 Like

Another option would be to use the “Software” tool.

When you are on the desktop clik on activities, then in the search bar type software.

You will see it show up, it looks like a white shopping bag with a blue circle on it.

Then have fun :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi @TheLostG. You might find this FAQ about PureOS (and the rest of the wiki) helpful: https://tracker.pureos.net/w/faq/

Yes, it would be, just not (at the moment) for Firefox or Firefox ESR (I guess, currently using another Linux distro).

[Original post deleted]

Edit: Judging from the responses below, I must have steered you to bad advice, so I’ll leave it to the others to assist now. Sorry. :slight_smile:

1 Like

@amarok, let us be aware, in addition, that sudo isenkram-autoinstall-firmware is new useful Linux command, introduced with Debian 11 “bullseye”.

Yet, as you already know, adding main and/or contrib from Debian sources should not happen, should not coexist within PureOS, by focusing here to “the missing drivers”, as you kindly pointed out in your post.

1 Like