Librem 5 FCC Certification

Now that the Librem 5 is shipping in production quantities, what is the status of the certification with the FCC (United States)? If a certification number has been issued, does anyone here know it? Does Purism need to get the Librem 5 certified in every country they ship to?

I buy both Amateur radio radios and part 90 (commercial) radios on Amazon. When it comes to the part 90 radios, I’ve noticed that if the radio isn’t from an American company (particularly if it’s from China), it may be advertised for use in a specific radio service that it is not certified for, and sometimes has no FCC certification at all. Of course that’s not relevant for the part 97 radios. But as an amateur radio operator, I know enough to want to comply with the rules of any radio service I use. It would be interesting to see what psrt of the FCC rules the cell phones are licensed under and to know Purism’s plans for FCC certification of the Librem 5.

3 Likes

It has been mentioned in various places that Purism is still in the process of getting the Librem 5 Evergreen FCC certified, since they had to wait for actual devices to be in hand before starting the process. If you are in line to be shipped a phone before the FCC certification is complete, you can request your shipment deferred until after FCC certification is obtained.

Purism will probably have to get certified by whatever governing body oversees radio device certification in the countries they are shipping to, depending on the country. Meaning they will also be getting CE certified for European countries. I’m not sure about approval in other non-US, non-European countries.

Isn’t the certification of a modem itself enough?