Librem 5 Signal app -- newbie

Hello,
I am a newbie setting up my new Librem 5 phone.
Could anyone send detailed instructions (for a beginner!) on how to download the Signal communication app from the signal.com website?
I checked the PurOS Store and it’s not listed there.
Thanks.
2nd Q: Are there are recommendations for the best news flash app in the PurOS Store? I’m currently using the CBS app on my Samsung. It works pretty well, but I would like a news app from the PurOS Store on my new Librem 5
Thanks again
Belerry

That signal dot com website above redirects to something that wants to sell websites.

No such software.

(Had to spell out “signal dot com” or this comment window also tries to turn it into a link.)

1 Like

Yes there is a news app on the store

See: https://forums.puri.sm/search?q=signal%20app&expanded=true
And in particular, this: Building and running Signal Desktop on the Librem 5

The real website is signal . org.
For @belerry, they only provide Android, iOS, and a desktop version. The desktop version requires linking to either an Android or iOS app on a separate device (currently).

The Librem 5 is considered a computer (for these purposes), so it would require the desktop application, but as you can see from the above links, it’s complicated to make it work (currently).

Maybe wait for the next version of Axolotl? They are working on it.
Last version started with a registration option. Alas it did not work.
Hope it will be possible to register in the coming version.

This one works pretty well for Signal - https://flathub.org/apps/details/de.schmidhuberj.Flare

After having registered on an Android or IOS phone.

Unfortunatly, flare does not work. There is olways a error message that nö communication with libsecret is possible.

1 Like

I think they have said they could implement registering from Flare.