Librem Mini is a copy NVISEN or not?

Hi all . I wanted to order a Librem Mini for myself. I started studying information on how to flash my Mini Coreboot after purchasing Purism Librem Mini (v1, v2) — coreboot 24.02-168-g1879b6a34a documentation

And I discovered that the internal contents, that is, the motherboard is the same as that of NitroPC 1 NitroPC 1 | shop.nitrokey.com
as well as Barebone Whiskey Lake U https://techtablets.com/2020/05/299-barebone-whiskey-lake-u-core-i7-8565u-mini-pc-review/

or NVISEN Y-MU01 NVISEN Y-MU01 (i7-10510U) Testbericht are the same, that is, they are the same Chinese manufacturer. Correct me if I’m wrong, it would be better if there are links or comparison tables.

That is, it turns out that this is the same device in terms of hardware, but the price may differ by half, for example NitroPC 670 euros and Purism Librem Mini 700 $ versus 300 $

I would appreciate your opinion and information.

1 Like

The Purism Librem Mini is based on the NitroPC 1, similar to the Purism Librem Key being based on the Nitrokey Pro 2. Looking closely at the NVISEN Y-MU01, it does seem to bear a strong resemblance, although I am not certain if flashing Coreboot or PureBoot (Basic) will work.

@jonathon.hall

The Librem Mini (version 1) was, IIRC, a rebranded version of a $300 eglobal generic NUC https://www.eglobaltech.cn/ViewDetails270.aspx . I believe I confirmed that by doing a reverse image search on some of the motherboard pics in Purism’s FCCID filing ( https://fcc.report/FCC-ID/2AT9R-LMV1-01/ ) .

I don’t think Purism has an FCC filing for the Mini V2. I assumed that the Librem Mini (version 2) was also a rebranded Intel Core i7-10510U eglobal NUC-like-device. Here’s one that looks almost identical Eglobal Mini Pc Win10 I7 10510u 2*ddr4 M.2 Ssd Dp 4k 60hz Nuc Computer Fan Mini Pc - Buy I7 Mini Pc Gaming Cpu Barebone Pc I7,Desktop Mini Pc Gaming Pc Desktop Computer,Desk Top Computers Mini Pc 4k 8gb Ram Product on Alibaba.com

1 Like