LXLE on Librem Hardware For Faster VMs?

I need the flexibility of VMs, but with reduced hardware demand. (The fans are screaming and the system slows to a crawl when using VMs.)

I’m considering this solution:

Host: Lightweight distro: LXLE
VM manager: Virtualbox (because I could get USB pass thru to work).

I’m hoping the LXLE distro will run the VMs with less overhead, and I can do the bulk of my work inside a VM specialized for the task.

Before I dedicate a good day setting this up to test it, for LXLE users running Librem hardware, a few qs:

Are you able to get Virtualbox to work?
If so what kind of performance are you seeing running your VMs vs. bare metal?

Do you have a link to LXLS? All I can find is LXLE which is based on Lubuntu with LXDE and LXDE’s successor is LXQT.

I am not an expert for virtualization but would not expect big differences in performance between up-to-date distributions on the host. Of course some DE’s are slimmer than others.

I think most important is the hardware support of virtualization, especially the CPU. I would expect all modern desktop CPUs to have virtualization support. You should check this with lscpu and you should check if those features are enabled in the BIOS.

When it comes to the guest systems I would think that there may be significant differences between ordinary distros and distros that where specifically designed for virtualization like Alpine Linux. Also if a guest system starts quickly maybe it doesn’t have run all the time and can be started on demand.

Also you could ask yourself if you really need everything in a full blown guest OS VM or if some subsystems can be run in containers with podman or whatever. That would probably reduce the burden.

https://podman.io/

The next time I will setup a VM I will try Gnome boxen (which is easier) or virtmamager (which has more options but pitfalls, too). I can’t judge if that will make a difference in performance.