Mobian on Librem 5

I haven’t really seen or heard anything from users on their experience with running Mobian on Librem 5. Is it supported, is Mobian supporting all the Librem 5 functions, like camera, modem, GPS etc. How fast does it boot, run, launch apps compared to PureOS etc.

Maybe share some pictures :slight_smile:

1 Like

I have been using Mobian Trixie on my Librem 5 for many months. Everything that worked with PureOS works too. The difference is newer versions of gnome and other software. One thing I noticed broken is Browserpass extension no longer works with Firefox. You have to apply a patch to gnome-settings-daemon power-manager: Show sleep warning conditional to chassis type (!338) · Merge requests · GNOME / gnome-settings-daemon · GitLab or disable Screen Wake up on critical notifications in phosh mobile settings.

5 Likes

I guess I’m an old fart, looking up Trixie the first 20 taglines either tells me how to download it or whether it is safe to download.

What the heck does it do?

It is like scrolling through news and reading “Celebrity {x} dies (or does {y}).” Then I ask myself, who the hell was {x}? Because I never watched or listed to the subject when they were active.

Now the Beatles new song, I understand.

2 Likes

Trixie (aka Debian 13) is the bleeding edge version of Debian. Bookworm (aka Debian 12) was the previous and is now considered stable now.

Stable meaning that it won’t get new features ans updates are bugfix only. (Not adding new features is less likely to break something).

Debian is another linux distro which Mobian is based off of. Like PureOS.

https://wiki.debian.org/DebianTrixie

Edit: Yeah I find codenames for software versions confusing as well.

3 Likes

If Trixie is the bleeding edge, then what is Sid?

1 Like

Thanks that is awesome I have my backup L5, that is sortof my testing one and to play around with phone. I will give it a try.

When you say “Everything works” does that include all the sensors?