New Post: I (Finally) Fired Google

While I have been working for many years to remove all aspects of Google from my personal life, it was only this past week that I replaced the final piece. As of this week I have finally fired Google. It wasn’t easy, and in this post I’ll tell my story of how tightly Google was integrated in my life, the lengths I had to go to remove them, and what took so long.

Read the rest of the post here:

19 Likes

Very cool! Congratulations, Kyle!

The only questions now are:
What data has Evil Corp amassed on you over the years, and for how long will they retain it?
:wink:

5 Likes

Forever, +1,000 years.

3 Likes

I’m assuming that Purism’s warrant canary covers AweSIM user data too? AweSIM is sounding like a better and better option…

2 Likes

Yes it would be covered under the Services canary:

However note that warrant canaries are designed to cover secret gag orders, NSL, implanted backdoors etc. and wouldn’t necessarily cover a regular, lawful request for information (like if law enforcement asked us for the contact information associated with a particular phone number). In our case there is very little to disclose other than the contact information associated with a particular number.

4 Likes

Just to clarify, is AweSIM available for non-Librem 5 phones? If so, I guess the Pre-Configured & Ready To Go statement on the AweSIM page made me think it was only for Librem 5 phones.

I believe so. I’d do it myself but… that pricetag…

1 Like

Well, I’m self-employed, so just another #BusinessExpense :wink:

FWIW, I eventually plan to get a Librem 5 USA but while waiting for the supply chain issues to resolve, I choose a De-Googled phone instead, but I’d rather give Purism my business instead of one of the other MVNOS.

2 Likes

Kyle, you should actually take this opportunity to request a copy of all the data that Google has on you, citing the CCPA; then you could write a post about all the shocking details.