Newbie: PureOS for Beginners Resources

Hi PureOS Community,
I’m really a newbie - first time using Linux, but I’m very excited. I’ve been struggling to install 3rd party apps, but making headway. Purism support has been great - Thanks @mladen ! However, I don’t want to bombard them with a thousand newbie questions, so wondering if anyone has resources / tutorials in laymen’s terms that would give me a basic understanding of how Linux works differently from other operating systems (I’m switching from a Mac.).

For example, I want to minimize a window without closing it. Not obvious. I want to install apps easily that aren’t in the PureOS Software repository - the whole Repos thing has me scratching my head. I really prefer not to use Terminal. I’m not a coder, but love the work Purism is doing and would like to use the OS but from a very simple perspective. I don’t need to do anything fancy or tweak a million settings. I just want to install the apps I need and use them efficiently. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

2 Likes

Unfortunately that depends not only on running Linux but also on the specific GUI environment chosen.

Anyway, the top of a window should have three icons, either at the left or at the right (your choice). Those icons should give: close, minimize without closing, maximize/unmaximize.

If you really get stuck with this then maybe use Alt+PrintScreen to do a screenshot of a window and post it here and I can annotate the screenshot for you and repost it.

Don’t? As a newbie it may be best not to do that.

I’ve been doing it too long to help with that one. :wink:

Because PureOS is derived from Debian, you can use the Debian documentation to learn. And look at the FAQ.

1 Like