Pronouns in Discourse

I want to ensure that this forum is inclusive and inviting for all people. One very small thing that means a lot to many people is to be called by their preferred pronouns when being mentioned by others.

As a Discourse forum admin, I would ideally like to create several preset titles that anyone (regardless of trust level) could set in their preferences. In the case that custom titles are eventually supported, it would be best that those are reserved for TL2+ to limit spam. At this time, I have the understanding that this feature is not yet available, either within the baseline configuration or through a third-party plug-in.

Until then, one small task I am happy to assist with is to manually set user pronouns upon request via direct message. ā€œJokeā€ pronouns or discrimination will not be tolerated. Thank you all for being valuable members of this community, and I hope that this small change encourages you to come as you are and feel free to be you.

9 Likes

I think Discourse is in the weird situation where

• they have added a ā€œpreferred gender pronounsā€ field (optional of course, but available for user self-edit) to the Discourse forum about Discourse i.e. their own forum - so it must be possible to do but maybe only with ELāˆž+ (:wink: i.e. substantial expertise level)
  • but refuse to add that to the standard Discourse software, even via the setup wizard (which would avoid the need for every individual forum admin to add or enable this field).

I guess thereā€™s ideology and/or politics at play there within the Discourse project but I donā€™t have any inside knowledge. I am just reading publicly available forum discussion on the Discourse forum.

One objection raised was the difficulty of integrating the whole idea into languages other than English (and that has also been raised in this forum).