PureOS Codename Questions

Hello all Purism community! This is my first day in Purism forum.

I kindly ask for your answers:

1. How is codename scheme of PureOS?

2. What are “Prometheus” and then “Hephaestus” as we see thoughout time on pureos.net front page?

3. What are “amber”, “byzantium”, “green” as we see in sources.list?

4. Are names in (2) codenames for ISO images while names in (3) codenames for releases?

5. Where is link that explains these stuffs? For example, Ubuntu is very clear about this, Trisquel is also [clear](see Wikipedia).

6. What is lifespan of every release or every “Hephasteus”-like naming? For example, Ubuntu is normally changing its name every 9 month (but once 2 years for the LTS editions).

I have difficulties figuring out these topics after I read Wikipedia, puri.sm website, pureos website, and also doing search in this forum. I am an author and currently writing short review about PureOS so I want to be precise in the naming. Please give me explanations. Thanks in advance and I really admire works of you all Purism people.

1 Like

Here is a suggestion, when they get to the letter “T”: The Torquemada release!

The main purpose of that release will be to root out FOSS and FLOSS heresies!

(No one expects the Spanisn Inquisition!)

1 Like

Hello tracy. Thanks for your concern, but I do not see relation between your answer and my question. Could you please elaborate more?

No concern at all, it is pure humor.

You need to be at least 60 years old to appreciate the references.

2 Likes

The posts tagged PureOS should prove helpful.
Especially the latest on mobile PureOS, but also the rolling stable of last September.

Repos: Green was the old stable, I think it no longer exists. That should now be amber.

If the codenames actually make sense, then they probably change it whenever the Debian version changes that PureOS is based on. That’s currently Buster.

1 Like