Terminal Out of control!

Hi all I have been trying to use the terminal to add a user to my new Librem 14.
Every time I put a comand in ( in this case sudo adduser followed by the name I want this user to have) and push enter the screen of ther terminal gets bigger!
In fact all I have to do is push the enter and it does this and only this as it does not follow any sudo camand rather just gets bigger and bigger until it is 4x the size of the screen.

I’m guessing that this is somthing I’ve done wrong as I’m new to Linux.
Does anybody here have any advice you can give me that will help me out all should I ask at customer suport?

1 Like

So that is gonna sound a bit harsh, but it is well intended.
What did you do?
Everbody could just guess about what happend here, but it would be much easier if you tell what you did and then there will be an answer how to fix this.
And please don’t say you didn’t do anything, because these things do not just happen on its own.

-H

1 Like

I also use a terminal. Since it is designed to emulate old HP terminals, there is no end to wierd things that can happen if I use the escape key or a control. Carriage Return is always followed by DC1 also.

It’s hard to imagine what you did.

Did you change your terminal’s “Zoom In” sequence from Ctrl-+ to Return ??? If your terminal is GNOME Terminal, look under the menu “Edit” --> “Preferences” --> “Shortcuts” and look for “Zoom In”. It should read “Ctrl++”. I just changed mine from “Ctrl++” to “Return” (by going to the field and hitting ‘enter’) and it changes the behavior to exactly what you described. [Aside: One can use a gsettings command to similarly set that preference. I hope you didn’t paste in some gsettings command off the internet that someone might have included as a joke.]