Will PureOS have 'iCloud-like' sync with Librem 5?

I’m a Linux newb and have been running PureOS for a couple of weeks now. I am really enjoying using Linux but have a question about the upcoming Librem 5. Will the Contacts, Tasks, & Calendar apps on the Librem 5 sync with apps on my PureOS laptop like they do with macOS & iOS devices via iCloud?

Many people would take the attitude that “cloud considered harmful” for functionality like that, unless done very carefully. On the other hand, it’s your phone and you are completely free to do what you want. That doesn’t answer your question.

There may be a range of questions. What is the situation at Day 1 of the release of the Librem 5? What is the situation some months later? Does the answer depend on subscription to a service?

In an ideal convergence scenario the problem doesn’t arise because the mobile is the laptop but that could be some time away (and you still might want to sync purely for backup purposes).

You can use any cloud provider that supports WebDAV for data sharing, CalDAV for calendar and CardDAV for contacts. The necessary apps for synchronizing are pre installed in the GNOME GUI. You can use e.g. Nextcloud as a provider.

1 Like

When setting up the phone will you be prompted to put in your email and password and have it set up all of those things to sync automatically on initial release? Unlikely

Will you be able to use services like nextcloud to manually configure that functionality? Almost certainly (I already do this on an ARM64 Debian based distro)

Will you eventually be able to use the same Librem.one account to sync these functions across devices with a very similar simple experience to apple/Microsoft/Google devices? Actually this is pretty likely as that level of ease of use is a desired goal; this is just almost certainly not a gen 1 feature.

1 Like

I liked the previous answers, but would add some greater details to help the original poster.