A Humble Librem 5 Daily User Review

Hello everyone. I am typing this on my recently received Librem 5 while docked to a monitor, keyboard, mouse, and Bluetooth headphones!

I have been giving the Librem 5 a test run as a daily driver for the last few days, and will attempt a simple review for those who have been waiting years (like I was). I will start by saying that I am not a developer or programmer, just an open source enthusiast. I am also a fairly patient person compared to others I know, so take that into consideration if it seems like I gloss over any weaknesses.

tl;dr

-Physical frame, killswitches and screen feel nice

-It eats up battery super fast and overheats when charging; workaround is put an ice pack under it

-Convergence is awesome! There are apps for basic functionality, especially Flatpaks

-It is a bit slower when doing too many basic functions, so don’t expect to do insane multitasking

Build Quality

The overall physical feel of the phone is rather pleasant I would say. It is certainly thicker than most phones are today, but I wouldn’t say that’s inherently a bad thing. I feel like I can keep a firm grip on the Librem 5 without a case whereas most modern phones feel like they can slip at any minute. The ability to repair and replace parts is also cool, but I haven’t cracked it open yet. It doesn’t feel clunky by any means, and in fact I would say it gives it a more solid feel. I did pop out the sim card tray to load, well, the sim card as well as an SD card to hold my 34 GB of music. The tray is easy to get out when empty, but I do have to use the sim tray tool to help pull it out when it has cards loaded. It’s not super difficult, but something to be aware of.