A Simple Image Editor (should also work on L5)

Hello Purism-Community,

I started to write a simple but highly configurable image editor, to learn some C, GTK and shell scripting (I am a absolute beginner).
I think this program could be very interesting for people who want to make some simple image manipulations on there Linux Phone or who do not want to open Gimp every time they just want to change the dimensions of an image.
Here is a video with the program on the L5 emulator

The idea is to have a GUI that displays an image and as many buttons and entries as the user wants. For every button and entry exists a shell script that does the image manipulation (I used ImageMagick in my scripts).
If there is not something similar already, I will publish the source code. Is GitLab a good website to publish the source code and should I use the GPL? Is there any interest in this project?

10 Likes

Cool! Nice job!

2 Likes

Nice idea! Definitely qualifies to be added here:

Instead of gaining wie access to the wiki, you can also drop a note in this thread after you decided license and hosting:

P.S. nice to have have John Doe on the forums, finally :wink:

2 Likes

Nice job. If you add red-eye elimination, cropping, and lightening/darkening, a lot of people will use your app for editing their photos.

For the license, my suggestion is GPL 3.0+ if you don’t expect anyone to reuse your code in larger projects or LGPL 3.0+ if you want people to reuse your code in larger projects.

3 Likes

Thank you for the links. I will drop a note in the linked thread as soon as I decided license and hosting. :+1:

I will see, if I can add this features to the default configuration of this app.
Thank you for your suggestions.