Battery life too short (noob)

Hello,

I’ve finally got my Librem 5 Evergreen few weeks ago, on receiving, I charge the battery and do the updates when I test it the day after the receive, I see it only stay 6h (97% -> 20%)?

What did I need to configure to have a better battery life ?
The test :

• No SIM
  • SD card
  • No Cellular
  • WIFI on
  • No mic/camera
    I put the phone on the desk on normal power mode and wake it up every hour (or so) to check the battery state, and after checking, I press the button to make the screen black (I don’t know if it was off or just black).
    I also remark the phone is quite hot (nothing high, but something like 30°C on open air)

I’m very new in the "smart"phones, I still use my Nokia 1600 until I find a way to have a better battery life (6 hours is clearly too short).

What did I do wrong to have this short battery life (expected at least 10h or so) ?

(I also check

and

)

nb : I don’t have time to recheck all subjects to see if a useful information are in, in the weeks, I use the phone for less than 36 hours in total due to lack of interest to the short battery life and my other activities (managing my servers and websites, do other stuff in home, …).

Thank you.

1 Like

The Librem 5 is still in developing - at least its software. Android and iOS smartphones force software and hardware to “sleep” while screen is black. This way they reach a much longer runtime without recharging battery.
Purism is working on that problem, but it’s a work on many “edges”. So it needs time. I read that there’s something like an experimental option to activate the current state. But it seams that there are still problems to wake up the phone (for example by incoming calls).