CE marking for the entire phone required if used in the EU?

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer; the information presented in this post is my personal interpretation and is by no means legal advice

According to the Shipping Announcement, phones from the batches Aspen, Birch, Chestnut and Dogwood will have a CE marking only for the radio, while those from Evergreen and Fir will have a CE marking that applies to the entire phone.

My understanding as a layperson is that there is a list of products for which a CE marking is required when they are brought into circulation in the EU. For mobile phones, it is not clear to me if a marking is only required for the radio or for the entire phone. The latter would imply that only phones from Evergreen and Fir could be legally brought into circulation in the EU.

It’s not clear to me either if all this is only relevant to Purism or if it is also relevant to the user. I also wonder if there similar issues with FCC markings for use in the US.

This all boils down to the following questions:

• Can I legally use a phone from the batches Aspen, Birch, Chestnut and Dogwood in the EU?
  • Can I legally use a phone from the batches Aspen, Birch, Chestnut and Dogwood in the US?

I am sure this has been discussed at Purism. Maybe somebody from the team could shed some light on this.

Thanks!

@todd-weaver

4 Likes

As a consumer you can use whatever you bought legally. CE marking gives a right to a consumer, but not obligation. Obligation is on manufacturers and distributors.

4 Likes