Help needed! Trackpad having problems

I’m on a Librem v2 with Ubuntu 18.04 and I’ve been using it as my main work computer for the past 4 months. So far things have worked quite well, but since an hour or so my mouse is behaving really weird. When I hold my finger still on a single spot on the trackpad, it kind of jitters around:

mouse unstable

This is realy annoying and makes the trackpad virtually unusable. I ran a sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade -y and rebooted it twice, just to be sure, but the problem remains. Since this is my main work laptop I need this to be fixed asap.

Does anybody know whether this is a hardware- or a software problem? And if it’s the latter; does anybody know how I can solve this? All tips are welcome!

Does anybody know whether this is a

ps. I know I can use a mouse, but I simply prefer the trackpad and since I’m a lot in on and off meetings, carrying a mouse with me is really annoying. And then I’m not even speaking about the remarks I’ll get: “I told you soo, Linux is crap”… :persevere:

2 Likes

Hi kramer65; to chime in as well, I have a similar issue (trackpad sometimes behaves in the erratic manner you describe, other times is more unresponsive), detailed in a thread I posted a while back:

All I’ve been able to find online (non-Librem specific) is that there might be a grounding issue that interacts with some trackpads in certain environments. I don’t know of any way to resolve it, however. (For example, see: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=204077).

Hopefully we’re able to hear from others that may have a solution; my use for the Librem is similar to yours, moving around a lot, not ideal for lugging around a mouse between meetings, etc…

1 Like

Hi,

I have the exact same issue now. Have my Librem 13 v2 for almost a year now and the trackpad started to act jittery very recently (a few days ago).

I found this thread where the same problem was reported, but cleaning the trackpad solved the issue for that user.