How powerful is the Librem 5, and how could I make games for it?

How powerful are the i.MX 8 CPU and Vivante GPU compared to something a layman would understand?

Also I was curious if you could create and build Unity projects to Linux and have it work on PureOS/Librem5? I tried looking at the documentation and couldn’t figure out how I’d go about making a game rather than an app. Is emulating the OS a good testbed or do I need to wait for the actual phone to test stuff? Would I need to upload all the source code for games I’d want to create along the lines of everything being open? Is anyone already thinking about making games or busy making one for the phone that I could ask questions?

I’d love a push in the right direction as I’m eager to learn and I have some time on my hands. I’m a noob though!

3 Likes

I’m not exactly interested in games, but I’m definitely curious how the “app” development is going to work. I saw some docs from an earlier blog post. But nothing really solid yet. I’m a java programmer so I’d mostly be curious on that stack.

I have no idea what the GPU is capable of but, the CPU is basically identical to that found in a Raspberry Pi 3B+. One of those running Raspbian will be a very good match and in fact will most likely be binary-compatible.

2 Likes

As per the latest specs the processor would likely be an i.MX8M Quad. It contains four A53-Cortex cores clocked at 1.5GHz.

A similar one equivalent in terms for Qualcomm it would approximately be Snapdragon 425. It contains four A53-Cortex cores clocked at 1.4 GHz.

Additionally, it should be taken into account that on an Android device; code that runs is Java. However, Librem5 will taken advantage of running native C.

On my device (Snapdragon 820), I ran a Java vs native C benchmark. As per the results, native C was 1.5 times faster than Java.

I am not an expert, so my answer should be taken with a grain of salt.

3 Likes