How to limit battery charge voltage and current

Like a few other users around here, I’m interested in limiting the maximum charge voltage and current to extend the longevity of the battery, so I dug in and read the datasheets and did some hacking and want to document what I’ve found for others. I have been doing this for several months now and it works well for me.

First, important warnings: messing about with the internals like this can be very dangerous if you don’t know exactly what you are doing, and could result in your battery catching fire and exploding if done wrong. For example, you can theoretically set your charge voltage to over 4.6V, which would almost certainly cause the lithium battery to “vent with flames”. Do not mess with this stuff without fully understanding what you are doing first.

The BQ25890 (datasheet: https://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/bq25890.pdf ) chip in the phone is programmable via i2c, and is present on bus 3 at address 0x6a. The register that contains the stop charge threshold voltage is 0x06, with the upper 6 bits setting the voltage and the lower 2 setting start charge threshold when voltage drops by a certain amount while still plugged in, and the minimum voltage for fast charge threshold.

I decided that the 4.112 threshold was a good value for me, and calculated the value to put in the register as 0b1000110 (hex 0x46). The last two bits set fast charge threshold to 3V and start threshold to 100mV, both default. So, if we remove these two bits, we are left with 0b010001. The datasheet states that the lowest bit corresponds to 16mV and the highest 512mV, each step doubling. So, adding these two set bits up (16mV + 256mV) we get 272, then add the base offset (again, specified in the datasheet) of 3840mV, we get 4112mV or 4.112V. So, to put it all together and write this to the chip, I use:

i2cset -f -y 3 0x6a 0x06 0x46