Librem 5 - Daily driven in professional use - SUCCESS

// TLDR

LIbrem 5 works perfectly for phone calls + text messaging + data out of the box. I put my SIM in and I switched to the L5.

// A FEW EDITS FOR CLARITY

I was wrong 2 months ago. The Librem 5 works great for calls and text.

About 2 months ago I decided to try an daily my L5 and within the span of an hour or two I deemed it a failure and started a thread on the topic here: L5 DAILY - Test 01 - First day - user error - #20 by intergalacticllama

It turns out, there was nothing wrong with the Librem 5, calls were not successful because I was too stupid to realise the mic switch was turned off! I am now two weeks in successfully using the L5 for my daily professional needs. My android is now used as a media consumption device and eventually it will just go away or just be a ā€œjust in caseā€ backup if there is an app that I need from the other ecosystem.

Some thoughts:

1) EXECTATIONS

I am a sysadmin and I know my way around these kinds of devices. I have been exclusively on Linux for my professional and personal workloads for 20 years as well as managed managed fleets of Linux desktops in corp environments. I know what to expect and what not to expect. I have been through all the headaches of pushing for a free world for two decades just so that somewhere in the future we can live a more free existence that I know the trade offs.

The trade off, ALWAYS, is this:

** LIVE LIKE A FARMED PIG** - You will have all the gadgets you want, all the comfort, all the nice to haves of a gilded cage. But, you will be fed at the trough when your farmer says you get to eat, you will use their tools the way your farmer tells you to use them and you will be expected to allow your farmer to insert thoughts into your mind and words into your mouth.