Newbie: I just wish I could install broadcom packages to get wifi working

Hello. If someone could help me out I would be very grateful.

I am a beginner to Linux systems, migrating from Mac.
I tried PureOS and love the simplicity and the fact that it does not give my Macbook a non-stop fan workout as Linux Mint is doing. Another thing I really like is how the UI less resembles the Windows look.
It feels minimalistic, smooth and beautiful.

However, I can’t get the wifi to work! I understand I have to download the drivers myself.
I have located which broadcom wifi modem I have and found the necessary files that should work on the arch linux website. I am reading on how to install these packages from the terminal, but can’t get it to work. Let me explain in detail what I am experiencing:

I am trying to install the necessary broadcom support files in the form of .pkg.tar.zst files.
Using pacman -S or pacman -U with the file name there after.

When I enter that command I get the following:

Could not find the database of available applications, run update-command-not-found as root to fix this. Sorry, command-not-found has crashed!

According to this information: https://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/585107/debian-command-not-found-error-local-variable-cnf-referenced-before-assignme

According to one answer I should do a “apt update” to make the problem go away.

When I try to do apt update I get the following

Reading package lists… Done
E: Could not open lock file /var/lib/apt/lists/lock - open (13: Permission denied)
E: Unable to lock directory /var/lib/apt/lists/
W: Problem unlinking the file /var/cache/apt/pkgcache.bin - RemoveCaches (13: Permission denied)
W: Problem unlinking the file /var/cache/apt/srcpkgcache.bin - RemoveCaches (13: Permission denied)

Another user suggest the following:

Change permission at

sudo chmod o+r /var/lib/command-not-found/commands.db*

but before that

Check permission variable state information