Pinetime Smartwatch Setup Guide

Setup Guide for PineTime on Librem 5

Introduction to PineTime

I have been using the Librem 5 (L5) with a PineTime for about 4 months at the time of writing. It functions as a good, cheap companion for those with low expectations for a smartwatch. It can tell the time, show you notifications, and start a timer, everything else is something that falls into the “oh neat” category for me.

The battery life on the watch has been great and regularly exceeds its rated 1 week life. The max brightness setting is enough for glaring sunlight. Connection range is about 3 meters with no obstructions, and it will connect from pocket to wrist. However I do find the connection to be prone to dropped packets and occasion reconnects if my L5 is in the opposite pocket of my wrist.

Bluetooth Setup

The PineTime uses Bluetooth 5 in Low Energy mode, abbreviated “BLE”. The RS9116 chip on the L5 claims to support this mode, but a few steps are necessary to enable it. The following procedure is what worked for me and my devices, but they are known good working on PureOS Byzantium updated on the date of this post.

Upgrading RS9116 Firmware

This step may or may not be necessary, but I do not want to downgrade firmware versions to test older versions. You can check which version of the firmware you have by running,

sudo dmesg | grep redpine

and you should expect to see something similar to this,

redpine_91x: ================ RSI Version Info ==============
redpine_91x: ================================================
redpine_91x: FW Version	: 1.2.0.16
redpine_91x: RSI FW Version	:  1610.1.2.ab.ffbf
redpine_91x: Driver Version	: RS9116.NB0.NL.GNU.LNX.OSD.2.0.0.0024
redpine_91x: Operating mode	: 13 [Wi-Fi STA + BT DUAL]
redpine_91x: Firmware file	: RS9116_NLINK_WLAN_BT_IMAGE.rps

in the output.

Currently the latest firmware is nonfree, but that is only because of a possible mistake on Redpine’s part. The instructions to update are hosted here